Lough Derg Yacht Club Hosts Shannon-One Design Centenary Regatta


Peter McCutcheon and his crew enjoying the Centennial Regatta.

Dromineer’s Lough Derg Yacht Club held a Shannon One Design Centenary Regatta earlier this month, to celebrate 100 years since the boat was designed by Morgan Giles, heralding the arrival of One Design sailing Lough Derg in 1922.

A festival and celebration of the boat and all who have sailed at Shannon One Designs over the past hundred years, organized by the Lough Derg Yacht Club and under the auspices of the Shannon One Design Association. The boat mainly sails from Lough Derg Yacht Club and Lough Ree Yacht Club.

The event itself consisted of six championship races over the weekend, as well as races for guest riders and young sailors (12-25 years old).

The winners of the Championship event were: 1st – Cathal Breen (Lough Derg) 155; 2nd – Frank Guy (Lough Derg) 142; 3rd – Stephen O’Driscoll (Lough Derg) 163

The Principal Race Officer was John Lefroy aboard his Yacht Phoenix.

For the competition, competing boat owners received a ‘welcome gift’ of a commemorative jug, locally handcrafted by Stephen Tierney of Portroe, and glazed with elements of reeds growing on Lough Derg. They also received a commemorative program printed by the Nenagh Guardian.

There were around 300/350 people on site for the weekend, ensuring the commercial reception of local shops and bed and breakfasts.

The weekend began with a cheese and wine reception hosted by senior LDYC officers where Commodore Joe Gilmartin greeted all competitors, guests and friends of the class.

A celebratory dinner was held at the clubhouse on Saturday July 2 for 177 people followed by music and dancing.

The weekend celebrations culminated on Sunday with a full traditional afternoon tea – and with the presence of the Nenagh Brass Band, adding to the joy of the occasion and providing a joyous atmosphere for all in attendance – including competitors, guests and local residents.

Financial support for the event was generously provided by a grant from Tipperary County Council and sponsorship from Brewen Dolphin Financial.

The Organizing Committee (along with many club volunteers) included: Anne-Marie Cox, Peter Lefroy, Rachel Guy, Noreen Sheridan, Mark O’Sullivan, Reggie Goodbody, John Tierney (Chairman).


Comments are closed.